top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

Palette perfection - Drugstore eyeshadows

I adore eyeshadows in general, so I am constantly on the hunt for new ones. I never go too bright but there are some beautiful colours out there, even if you are on a bugit! These range from £6 to £10 and are SOOO pretty! You will see a LOT of nudes here (ooh-err) and shimmery colours because they make everyones' eyes pop. So try some out, I hope this helps you out!

First is a Revlon palette that I got for my birthday from my lovely friend. It has 4 colours and I use all of them. It is very compact so can easily fit into your bag. The pigment is amazing and all the colours are shimmery and go well together. On the back there is a small diagram on how you should wear all the colours and (unlike most diagrams on makeup products) it actually helps a bit! There is a light shimmery chamagne with a tinge of pink shade to higlight in the inner corners and on the brow bone. Then a more pink shade for a base, then a goldy-brown and a darker brown to blend into the crease. Also, these eyeshadows last a really long time (it says 16 hours on the back... but come on, let's be honest).

Next is a gorgeous gosh quad. This palette is a lot more matt and has more bowny shades. It can contribute to a very subtle and natural look. The colours include a very white-ish cream which is a perfect dupe for MAC's "vanilla pigment" and is a great natural highlighter for the brow bone and tear duct area if you don't want to look too shimmery. Then there is matt brown which is great to put in the crease for a more natural look if you are not using sparkly tones. Next is a slighty shimmery darker brown with flecks of glitter running through it. It is still a very subtle eyeshadow but gives a bit of girliness to your look. Finally there is a matt light brown which reminds me a lot of MAC's "wedge" but slightly warmer. It can be used in a lot of ways so is a must in anyone's make up collection.

Now we have the Barry M "Natural Glow 2" palette. This is a bigger palette with six shades and a "base eyeshadow primer". The colours are pretty and I wear them quite often to change up my routine of browns, golds and pinks but I was pretty unimpressed by the primer. When I bought it, I just thought to myself "oh, that's great, I get a primer for free!" But it is not great. It is a bit too waxy and you need a lot, so you end up getting a finger which feels really weird. However, it blends onto the eyelids okay, I wouldn't say that it kept my eyeshadow on any longer but there is a small difference in the brightness of the colours. You can see them more clearly and they go on smoother. Anyway, enough of my little rant, onto the actual eyeshadows. In this set is a pretty vanilla colour which is matt and a bit more beige than the colour from my Gosh palette; I use this colour a lot as it is very pigmented and is also quite versitile. Then there is a light grey which I was a bit afraid to use, and I still am slightly, but it can be used to create a more smokey effect and I usually use it if I am going out for a dinner with my family. Next is a strange purple/ brown/ red. I think it is called "maroon" but I am not sure. Anyway, it is matt and can be worked into the crease to have a nice smokey effect. But I am always slightly worried that it will make my eyes look sore, but if you blend it with a goldy tone, it can a lovely colour on your eyes. Then there is a super-sparkly champagne colour with peach running through it. It is a lot more shimmery than most of my other eyeshadows so I use this more if we are going out, but it can also make a cute everyday look if you put it with more natural colours. Then there is a deep grape colour which I like much more than I thought I would! It is shimmery too and the pigment is amazing, most of the time I put a little bit in the crease for a darker and more smokey look without adding the black (which I am extrememly scared of). Finally is an even deeper coal colour which is also shimmery (there are a lot of shimmery colours in this palette, just wait till the next one!). I don't wear this one as much because, as I said, I am not the biggest fan of black because it makes me look like a baby emo. But that is okay, most other people can rock some black with a smokey look!

And finally we have my favourite palette; the monsterous W7 "in the buff: lightly toasted" palette is a must have with everything you could ever need in it. It is basically the best dupe ever for the Urban Decay NAKED palette with an amazing array of beautiful colours. I won't bore you with describing how to wear each and every one of them but I will tell you about my favourites. In my opinion, the best colour in this palette is... oh it is hard to choose.... I think I will have to go with wonderland (secound one on the left) and twister (sixth on the left) simply because I wear them all the time. Even though the look you get when wearing these two is quite Spring-y and bright, it suits every season. I got this on my birthday in December and I have used them A LOT! Wonderland is a cute pink shimmer which is a perfect base for a natural but girly smokey eye. It can also be used as a highlight but be careful because you don't want to go out looking like Edward Cullen when the weather is nice! Twister is also great if you want an elegant gold look and the pigment is amazing so you really don't need much. Using Twister can get you a subtle but sweet look by just adding a darker brown to the crease. I also adore "Teddy Bear" (first on the left) because it is also a highlighter (woah, I do love my highlighters don't I, or eye hahaha! Sorry) and it can make a sweet base if you want a more "awake" eyeshadow style. I think the reason I love these colours so much is because they widen my eyes a lot, and also because I am still a Teen, I don't like wearing super dark and sexy looks, so I settle for the cute alternative. All the other colours are bautiful (but I don't use the black and grey as much) and many are metallic-y and oh sooo pretty. Oh yeah! I almost forgot, the palette also comes with a cute little brush which I love. It is a pet hate of mine when eyeshadows come with the stupid foam brushes because it reminds me of BAD CHILDHOOD MAKE UP EXPERIENCES! So when this one had a really good quality brush (considering the price) I was flabberghasted. At the best part is, I think that this palette was only £7 or something ridiculously cheap for the quality! So if you are started out in make up and you need the basics, don't splash out £40 on an Urban Decay one, just go for this one! Also, the packaging is adorable!

I had a great time talking to you,

see you later!

Lauren x

bottom of page