top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

New Brushes - review


Woohoo! I am oh so very excited because of a small package that came in the mail! Over the last few days I have been on holiday so I haven't been able to look at a very special addition to my make-up (or make-up tool) collection! On Sunday I purchased some beautiful brushes online. They came on Monday thanks to Amazon Prime but I only got to see them now, and I absolutely adore them!

There are 8 in total, 4 larger face brushes with chunky handles and 4 small brushes for eyeshadow and concealer with thin handles. I think the brand is called "Annengjin" and I know, many people would turn their noses up as soon as they heard the name because it is not particularly well-known in the UK and therefore people might not think it is reliable. But I was willing to give them a shot, and I am so glad I did. I got them of Amazon for £7.99 which is a great price for 8 brushes, that is basically £1 for each brush! I got them for this price rather than the £4.50 (or something) also advertised because that one wasn't available for PRIME (a special service you pay for where you get free next day delivery) so I would have to pay £4.50 for postage and I would have to wait a lot longer for them to come. But enough of that stuff.

Being a young teenager with limited money means that I always struggle to find good quality brushes that aren't super expensive. In shops such as SUPERDRUG and BOOTS the brushes are still highstreet priced but I am a total cheapskate so I am always trying to find better deals! So one evening my friend and I decided to look up makeup brushes and we found these and they were so pretty I just HAD to get them!

Enough rubbish Lauren! The brushes are astonishingly good for the price! They come in a cardboard package which is very thin and inside all of the brushes are in a protective plastic bag thing. Then for further sanitation, each brush was in its own plasctic bag. After a while of unwrapping, I got to the product. The large brushes are very dense and not loose, I noticed that as soon as I felt them. I like this a lot because some brushes are all flimsy and all of the product goes half-way down the length of each hair, so in order to get to the product, you have to press the brush down which damages it!

The face brushes are the perfect size. Each one is different and has a different use which is good. First, there is a slightly angled brush. Although it is not sharply angled like most contouring brushes are, it still does the job! At the moment I am a bit scared of bronzer, but I will definitely use it in the future to shape my face. Next is a tapered brush which I adore! It is perfect for applying foundation with a bit more precision. It buffs in very well to create a natural but more covered look in some areas (like under the eyes) where you have imperfections such as redness. Next is another favourite of mine, it is a slightly rounded buffer brush. It is perfect for buffing in foundation in comparison to my old brushes. It is dense and keeps its shape but blends liquids well. And finally for face brushes, there is a flat stipling brush which is great if you want a bit more coverage. I cannot rave about the face brushes enough to be honest! I love having the choice instead of just having to make do. They are great for getting the full potential out of you foundation because even a really expensive foundation looks like rubbish if you don't use a good brush to blend it in!

Next we have the eye brushes which I love aswell. They have thinner handles but are still easy to grip and are very precise. First there is a small blending brush which is great if you are doing a smokey eye and you want to be a bit more precise. Next is another tapered brush which I use the most out of the eye brushes. I use it to blend in concealer because it is very precise but I also use it to apply darker colours to the outer corners of my eyes when doing a smokey eye. Next, there is a slightly slanted brush which I use to blend darker colours. Finally there is a larger blending brush which has universal use and I mostly use it just to apply base colours because it picks up a good amount of product.

So that is it! I cannot stress how amazing these brushes are, I would recommend all begineers in makeup to grab these whilst you can! They are soooo soft and just perfect, I haven't had any brushes like them ever! When I took them out of the packaging, yes, they did smell like chemicals but that is just because they are new and have just been manufactured. So I would advise cleaning them right away and then you can use them! Now I am going to go and rub them on my face because they feel amazing. I'm normal.

PLLLLEEEEAASSSEEE go and buy them!

It's been great talking to you,

see you later.

Lauren x

Here is the link to these fabulous brushes:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Annengjin%C2%AE8PCS-Professional-Cosmetic-Eyeshadow-Cosmetics/dp/B00MIBBP7G/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1424287297&sr=8-2&keywords=makeup+brushes

bottom of page