top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

I bought some stuff - Beauty Haul


Well, I had an extremely successful week in the shopping departement, so I thought I would share my purchases with you lovely people! Oh wow I am soooo excited. I've got that feeling that you get when you buy something you love soooo much and you can't wait to use it! Stop gabbering Lauren! Well anyway, just as a disclaimer (because apparently those are needed) I am not trying to show off and I got all these things with my cold earned cash (pocket money). I went on holiday to bournemouth and bought the foundation, concealer and eyeliner there and I just got back from town where I bought the other things.

So I will start with one of my favourites ( I always say that don't I, to be honest, I love them all!). I know I raved a lot about my RIMMEL wake me up foundation but I found that it actually has little sparkles in it ( I think those are the "light reflecting particles") and in the mirror you don't really notice them, but when you are in the sun they shine like crazy and I always think I look a bit weird. Plus, if you wear itin school you might get caught. So I decided to find an alternative to use for school - what! I don't wear makeup to school that's absurd! Psshhhhh. But I wanted to find an alternative and when I was in the BOOTS in bournemouth there was a deal for L'oreal paris products (2 for £12) which was really good and saved me £10 or something! So I got the "L'oreal Paris Lumi magique light infusing foundation". Wow, it has a long name, why do they make it sound so French anyway? Is it just to make it sound more posh, because, as a french speaker, it doesn't do it for me. This is a light-ish foundation which leaves my skin silky smooth and is good at covering my redness without getting cakey. It is "light infusing" which I am guessing means that you look more awake... hold on let me google it. It says that it gives you "instant skin radiance". This is nice because it makes me look brighter and more awake. I think that my RIMMEL foundation wanted to do something similar but this new foundation doesn't have sparkles which is good. I got it in the colour "rose pearl" (may I just say, what a lovely name for a skin tone, they know how to get people to buy their products over there at L'oreal don't they). The colour is good for my skin in these winter months but the only thing I would say is that there isn't a huge range of colours which might be annoying. Also, because I am a freak, I HAVE to mention the packaging. AH! It is so lovely in comparison to many other foundations bottles! It has rose-gold (a favourite of mine) and it is all sleek and pretty. It is one of those things I am not ashamed to have on my dressing table! Oh yeah, I almost forgot, this way £10.99 I think.

Next we have a product that I have contemplated buying for a while now. I got this expensive-looking contour kit from SEVENTEEN. Yes, I know that seventeen isn't the biggest brand but this came out and I HAD to buy it! It has a beautiful pearly-cream highlighter which I pop on my browbone and the tops of my cheekbones just above my blush. It also has a matte bronzer which was probably the reason why I bought it. If you have read my FACE IT blogpost and some of my others, you will know that I have a bit of a phobia of bronzers. I have never really tried to use them because I have always been too scared that I will walk out of the house with a brown line down my face. But I took a leap of faith! The kit was only £5.99 and looked really nice on the inside. It reminds me a lot of the nars packaging despite the front. I just got home and tried it and I instantly fell in love with it. I used my angled Anningjin brush and lightly put it underneath my cheekbones to add definition. OHMYGOSHH! I loved the look so much, I have always hated how round my face is and how chubby my cheeks are and this made such a difference. I was able to build it up nicely and I can't believe the difference it made! I am glad I got a matte bronzer instead of a shiny one because I think it is a lot more natural and suits me more.

Next is another seventeen product which I got because there was a "buy 1 get the secound half price" offer. So I picked up this beautiful "instant glow shimmer brick" in pink bronze because it was just too pretty to leave behind! Basically there are four strips of colour all connected to make a palette thing. The first strip is a pinky-pearl, the secound is a pretty pink, the next is a sparkly light brown and the last is a dark brown. All of the colours are highly pigmented and super shimmery. I think this would be perfect just to dust over your cheeks for a "sunkissed" look. It is basically a highlighter, blush and bronzer all in one. I use my domed Annigjin brush or my Real techniques buffer brush (because I don't use brushes for their purposes) and swirl it around in the palette a bit and then pop it on my cheeks and blend it in. This was originally £4.99 but I got it for £2.50 because of the deal.

When I was in the BOOTS in Bournemouth, I also got the matching concealer to my foundation because that makes my collection look so much more put together. So I got the "L'oreal lumi magique stylo touche de lumiere" which literally translates to "pen touch of light" which makes sense. But it has this beautiful reflective rose-gold packaging so it is all okay. It is one of those clicky pen ones where you twist the bottom and then you use the brush on the top and pop the concealer under you eyes and on redness. The formula is really nice and is not cakey at all. The coverage is light but that is okay, but I wouldn't use it on spots in general because it is sort of like the RIMMEL wake me up concealer and is used to brighten up under-eye circles. Personally, I don't want to brighten up any spots, I pop this on in a triangular shape and blend it in with my real techniques foundation brush because it is the perfect size. Or if I want to be even more precise, I use my tapered eye brush from my vast Annengjin brush collection. This is usually £8.99 but I got it for around £3 because of the amazing 2 for £12 deal in boots.

In superdrug, I was cruising around like I always do and my amazing friend Maya from Mayflower moments decided to get some stuff from the brand NYC. I know, this is another bugit brand but who cares as long as the job gets done? Well, she bought two things and thanks to the amazing shop that is superdrug, she could pick something out for free! Being the amazing friend that she is, she offered to get me something (after I begged her to) and I picked out the "high definition liquid eyeliner". This is a felt liner which I wanted to get because I have had enough of those stupid pots! They drive me crazy and I have heard that pens are SOOO much easier. Also, I am extremely clumsy, so I can't drop eyeliner all over the floor now! Ever since, I have been wearing it. Yes, I still find it dificult but when I get it right, it looks really elegant and pretty, especially with a natural smokey eye. On the package, it says it last for up to 10 hours, frankly I think this is poppycock, but I don't mind as long as it gets the job done! Also, I don't usually stay in town or go out for dinner for 10 hours, because otherwise, I don't wear much make-up. I think this was usually £2.99 but of course we got it for free. THANKS MAYA!

And finally, we have a lip product. This was very much an impulse buy and I didn't really NEED a tinted lip balm, but I had to spend that last bit of money because I am a perfectionist and I genuinely can't come home and have money left over, I think I have a problem. So I bought this lovely "sweet sheen lip balm" from MUA. I know, I know, another cheapy brand but you know what? GET OVER IT! I got this in the shade "peachy dream" which is a fun corally pink which would be amazing in the summer. I have tried it on and although the pigment isn't insanely strong (it is a lip balm after all), it leaves a pretty tint of coral on my lips which I think is very pretty. This was £2 and I do really like it! The packaging is not the nicest but that doesn't matter too much. Also, it smells nice (am I the only one who smells makeup?).

So that is it! Gosh, I have bought a lot! But I love it all. I hope this inspired you to head out and shop for many a beauty product. My makeup collection is rapidly growing which I am very happy about! Maybe soon I will post an updated daily makeup look!

It's been great talking to you,

see you later.

Lauren x

bottom of page